Special to The Hays Daily News

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- League regular season champion Northeastern State and runner-up Fort Hays State combined to place nine members on the All-MIAA men's soccer first team, as the teams were released today.

The MIAA Player of the Year is Fort Hays State University's Tanner Brock, who had six goals and six assists, averaging 1.06 points per game from his midfield position. He was joined by teammate Mauricio Castorino who scored two goals and added five assists in 14 games this season. Northeastern State head coach Rob Czlonka was named the Coach of the Year leading his team to an 11-0-1 record and a first place finish in the regular season.

The back-line of the first team is led by Fort Hays State goalkeeper Kent Freund, who had a 0.93 goals against average this season. Joining him is teammate and defender Eric Hymer who was a unanimous selection to the first team. Adam Schmoker and Terence Smith were both part of the Northeastern State defense that held teams to just 0.77 goals against this season.  

Joining Brock in the midfield is teammate Diego Cabral and Northeastern State's Jordan Schmoker. Also anchoring the midfield are Lindenwood's Ignacio Pizarro Romero and Upper Iowa's Leandro Pena.

At the forward spot Northeastern State's Juan Peralta joins Fort Hays State's Michael Cole and Upper Iowa's Ryan Pinkerton.

The MIAA Men's Soccer Tournament kicks off today at 4 p.m. with the semi-final round from the College Boulevard Activities Complex in Olathe, Kan.




Tanner Brock, MF, Fort Hays State  


Mauricio Castorino, F, Fort Hays State  


Rob Czlonka, Northeastern State


GK: Kent Freund, Sr., Fort Hays State

D: Eric Hymer, Sr., Fort Hays State**

D: Adam Schmoker, Sr., Northeastern State  

D: Terence Smith, Sr., Northeastern State  

MF: Tanner Brock, Sr., Fort Hays State**

MF: Jordan Schmoker, Sr., Northeastern State

MF: Diego Cabral, Sr., Fort Hays State

MF: Ignacio Pizarro Romero, Sr., Lindenwood

MF: Leandro Pena, Jr., Upper Iowa

F: Juan Peralta, Sr., Northeastern State**

F: Michael Cole, Jr., Fort Hays State

F: Ryan Pinkerton, So., Upper Iowa

**Unanimous Selection


GK: Jackson Biles, So., Northeastern State

D: Carlos Linares, Sr., Fort Hays State

D: Alejandro Cases Da Silva, Sr., Lindenwood

D: Crosby Lee, Jr., Northeastern State

MF: Edgar Pineda, Sr., Southern Nazarene

MF: David Lucio, Jr., Fort Hays State

MF: Hayden Rasmussen, Fr., Northeastern State

MF: Justin Schaeffer, Sr., Southwest Baptist

MF: Johnny McBeth, Fr., Upper Iowa

F: Andre Hayne, Jr., Lindenwood

F: Mauricio Castorino, Fr., Fort Hays State

F: Ricardo Palomino, Fr., Northeastern State

F: Blake Rodgers, Sr., Southern Nazarene


Fort Hays State: Drew Wilson, D.

Harding: Phillip White, D; Cole Walker, F; Barry Foster, F.

Lindenwood: Jeremy Tutas, D.

Northeastern State: Chance Miller, D; Frank Garay, MF; Justin Todd, F.

Southern Nazarene: Matthew Lawrence, D; Javier Caballeros, F.

Upper Iowa: Connor Rortvedt, GK; Hugo Alves, D; Seb Smith, D; Rhys Williams, D; Fausto Ordenana, MF.