The Hays USD 489 Board of Education will have more time to take action on administrators' contracts.

The board voted 6-0 Monday night to approve the policy changes. Josh Waddell was absent.

The new policy states administrators' contracts will be reviewed annually, and the board determines the terms and length of the contracts. The board has until the third Friday in May to give written notice of non-renewal.

Administrators have until the 14th calendar day following the third Friday in May to reject the contract renewal.

Previous policy stated the superintendent recommend the terms and length of each contract.

The superintendent's and assistant superintendent's contracts were acted on in February, and principals' and assistant principals' contracts in March.

Superintendent Dean Katt said after looking at other districts' policies such as the board had asked, he didn't find the former language and deadlines in any of them.

The new policy language was recommended by the Kansas Association of School Boards, he said.

"The principals are concerned with the language change, no doubt about it," Katt said.

Greg Schwartz said the district might not know about necessary cuts because of finances earlier, but "performance-based issues, you're going to be informing them much before that."

"I think it's my job to make sure that everyone knows where they stand in February, March, so there's not an issue with that," Katt said.

In other business, the board

* Didn't accept the 60-month lease bid of $1,284.74 for a Xerox copier for the copy center.

The vote was 3-3, with Schwartz, Sarah Rankin and Lance Bickle voting against.

Schwartz made a motion to see if the existing lease on a Ricoh copier can be extended to the end of the fiscal year "so we can just have some more information on the technology piece of this."

That motion passed 6-0.

* Recognized Riley Kershner, a fourth-grader at Lincoln Elementary School, as the Best of the Best student for December, and Nancy Lundy, special education teacher at O'Loughlin Elementary School, as the Best of the Best staff member.

* Approved the 2014-15 audit as presented by Adams, Brown, Beran and Ball representatives.

* Approved curriculum guide revisions for Hays High School.

* Accepted resignations from Makenzie Dornbusch, O'Loughlin Elementary School lunchroom/after-school care; Nathan Honas and Olivia Davenport, Wilson Elementary School after-school care assistants; Kay Fisher, bus driver; Seth Bailey, Washington Elementary School technology assistant; Abby Hammeke, Hays Middle School accompanist; Heather Burgardt, Hays High School assistant cook; Darren Timken, Wilson head custodian; Haley Rankin, Washington after-school director/ELL para; and Sheila Neuburger, bus driver.

* Approved Monica Stecklein's transfer to temporary secretary at O'Loughlin.

* Approved termination of Kristen Osborne, Washington ELL para.

* Approved employment for Erica Deines, Wilson para; Allan Amrein, Hays High winter event coordinator; Jacquelyn Simon, O'Loughlin special-ed para; Justin Hejny, HMS seventh-grade head football coach; Lacie Jacka, Hays High special-ed para; Sara Kay Carrell, Hays High assistant boys' and girls' swim coach; Claudia Wright, Washington ELL para; Gypsy Mueller, Lincoln Elementary School after-school substitute; Kristin Conor, Washington after-school program director; and Nayeli Vega, Learning Center lab assistant.