MANHATTAN A series of four Kansas State University Sorghum Production Schools will be offered in early February to provide in-depth training for sorghum producers.

The one-day schools will cover current production issues facing sorghum producers, said Ignacio Ciampitti. Topics will include weed control strategies, crop production practices, soil fertility and nutrient management, insect control, irrigation, limited irrigation and iron chlorosis (at western Kansas schools), and risk management.

The schools will begin at 9 a.m. and end at 3 p.m., and include a farmer panel at the end of each school. The dates and locations are:

Feb. 2: Scott City, Wm. Carpenter 4-H Building, 608 N Fairground Rd John Beckman, agriculture extension agent, Scott County, jbeckman@ksu.edu, (620) 872-2930;Feb. 3: Phillipsburg, Phillips County Fair Building, 1481 US-183 Cody Miller, crop production extension agent, Phillips-Rooks District, codym@ksu.edu, (785) 543-6845;Feb. 4: Ellsworth, American Legion Post 174, 645 W 15th St Michelle Buchanan, crop production extension agent, Midway District, mbuchanan@ksu.edu, (785) 472-4442; andFeb. 5: Emporia, Bowyer Community Building, 2650 W US Hwy 50 Brian Rees, agriculture extension agent, Lyon County, brees@ksu.edu, (6200 341-3220.

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of several sponsors. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register before Jan. 29. Online registration is available at K-State Sorghum Schools: http://bit.ly/KSSORGHUMSchools.

An alternative to online registration is to email or call the nearest local K-State Research and Extension office for the location you plan to attend. The 2016 schools are sponsored by Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission. All the schools will offer Crop Certified Advisor and Commercial Pesticide Applicator credits.

For more information, contact the nearest K-State area extension agronomist, or: Jill Barnhardt, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, jill@ksgrainsorghum.org; Ignacio Ciampitti, K-State crop production specialist, ciampitti@ksu.edu; or Curtis Thompson, K-State weed management specialist, cthompso@ksu.edu.