Staff members of The Hays Daily News took home 16 first-place awards Saturday afternoon at the annual Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence luncheon in Overland Park.

The HDN won 13 of the honors from the newsroom in the Daily Division II group, and three more from the advertising department in the combined Division II and III group.

Reporters Mike Corn and Maggie Gebhardt each won three first-place awards. Cornís came for best environmental story, best story/picture combination and news photo.

Gebhardt took home top honors in the series writing category, religion story and education story.

Reporter Judy Sherard won first place in the investigative story category, while photographer Jolie Green had the best photo package. Managing editor Nick Schwien won first for a government/political story.

The newsroom also took top honors for the best use of photos, design and layout, best front page and best newspaper website.

Advertising representative Joleen Fisher and graphic artist Mallory Goecke won first in the best professional service ad category, while Goeke also earned top honors in the best political ad category.

Advertising manager Mary Karst won first for most adaptable promotion for the annual veteransí section.

The HDN also combined for 15 second-place awards and 15 third-place honors.

The annual Kansas Press Association Convention was Friday and Saturday.