MANHATTAN – Grain growers in eastern Kansas who plan to campaign for a seat on one of the state’s five grain commodity commissions should gather petition signatures now to meet the Nov. 30 filing deadline.

The 2016 election will cover districts seven, eight, and nine.

District seven includes: Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Marshall, Nemaha, Pottawatomie, Riley and Wyandotte counties.

District eight includes: Anderson, Chase, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Johnson, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Morris, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties.

District nine includes: Allen, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Greenwood, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson counties.

To be eligible to run for any of the five commodity commissions, the candidate must have been actively engaged in growing corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers within the past five years.

Candidates must gather 20 signatures from eligible voters. No more than five signatures from any one county can be used to qualify a candidate. Eligible voters are Kansas residents who will be 18 before the election and have grown corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers or wheat within the past three years.

Packets are available from the Kansas Department of Agriculture or the grain commodity commissions.

Find more information at:

Kansas Corn Commission at (785) 448-2626 or www.kscorn.comKansas Grain Sorghum Commission at (785) 341-6433 or Soybean Commission at (785) 271-1030 or www.kansassoybeans.comKansas Sunflower Commission at (785) 565-3908 or www.kssunflower.comKansas Wheat Commission at (785) 539-0255 or www.kswheat.comKansas Department of Agriculture at (785) 564-6700 or