TOPEKA — The Kansas District Judges’ Association, an organization open to all state district court judges, has elected officers to serve the organization in the fiscal year that began July 1.

Judge Patricia Macke Dick was elected president of the association. She is chief judge of the 27th judicial district, a one-county district made up of Reno County, where she has served as judge since January 1989.

Macke Dick is a native of Plainville and a graduate of Kansas State University and the University of Kansas School of Law. She serves on the Chief Judges Council and on the Kansas Judicial Council's Family Law Advisory Committee. She also is liaison to the board of the Kansas Bar Association for the KDJA and to the Kansas Bar Foundation as the representative of the Kansas Women Attorneys Association.

As president of KDJA, Macke Dick looks forward to continuing to support the judicial branch of government and serve Kansas district judges throughout the state.

Judge Robert J. Frederick was elected vice president. He is a judge in the 25th judicial district, composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott and Wichita counties.

Judge James Fleetwood was elected secretary. He is chief judge of the 18th judicial district, a one-county district composed of Sedgwick County.

Judge Bruce Gatterman was elected treasurer. He is chief judge of the 24th judicial district, composed of Edwards, Hodgeman, Lane, Ness, Pawnee and Rush counties.

Outgoing president is Judge Michael F. Powers, chief judge of the 8th judicial district, composed of Dickinson, Geary, Marion and Morris counties.

The new officers were elected at a statewide conference for judges conducted in Wichita.