MANHATTAN – With lower expected revenues from the sale of calves in 2017 compared to 2014-15 prices, many producers are looking for ways to improve their operations’ profit potential. Thus, the 2017 Kansas State University Winter Ranch Management meetings will include comments from extension educators on profit-enhancing strategies.

The meetings will include a question-and-answer session between cattle producers and extension specialists. The Winter Ranch Management series runs in January and early February.

Bob Weaber, K-State Research and Extension cow/calf specialist, and other state, district and local extension staff will answer producers’ questions. Among the beef cattle issues will be animal health, nutrition, management, genetics and reproduction.

Some topics Weaber predicts are winter feeding and cow management; bull buying and selection strategies; preparation for calving and breeding season; and the new Veterinary Feed Directive.

2017 Winter Ranch Management locations and contacts include:

Mound City

Date: Jan. 26, 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. CST

Location: Mound City First Baptist Church, 8424 Paine Road, Mound City

RSVP by Jan. 19 to Megan Westerhold, (913) 294-4306 or mwesterhold@ksu.edu; or Chris Petty, (620) 223-3720 or cgp@ksu.edu.

Syracuse

Date: Feb. 7, 5 to 8:30 p.m. Mountain Time

Location: Hamilton Co. Fairgrounds, 806 Main St., Syracuse

RSVP by Jan. 31 to Jenifer Sexson, (620) 384-5225 or jsexson@ksu.edu.

Salina

Date: Feb. 14, 11 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Location: Salina K-State Polytechnic Conference Center, 2310 Centennial Drive, Salina

RSVP by Feb. 7 to Katelyn Brockus, (785) 325-2121 or kbrockus@ksu.edu; or Anthony Ruiz, (785) 392-2147 or anruiz@ksu.edu; or Neil Cates, (785) 738-3597 or ncates@ksu.edu; or Kashly Schweer, (785) 483-3157 or kschweer@ksu.edu.

Olsburg

Date: Feb.15, 5 to 8:30 p.m.

Location: McCormick Elementary, 109 N. First St., Olsburg

RSVP by Feb. 8 online at www.pottawatomie.ksu.edu or call the Pottawatomie County Extension Office at (785) 457-3319.

For more details, contact Anastasia Johnson, (785) 562-3531 or anastasia@ksu.edu; or Greg McClure, (785) 537-6350 or gmcclure@ksu.edu; or Della Sass, (785) 457-3319 or dsass@ksu.edu.

Atwood

Date: Feb. 21, 5 to 8:30 p.m.

Location: Rawlins County Fair Building, 20366 RD S, Atwood

RSVP by Feb. 14 to JoEllyn Argabright, (785) 626-3192 or joargabright@ksu.edu.

Meeting times vary by location, but all will include a meal. Participants are asked to RSVP for a selected location by the close of business one before the event. Registration fees, which cover a meal, vary by location. Participants should contact their local host contact for registration and RSVP details.

More details about the K-State Winter Ranch Management series are available at KSUBeef.org.