Katherine Wolfe, chairwoman of the Hays Public Library Board of Directors, announced today that the organization's board has accepted the resignation of James Agee as library director.

Agee has already left his position at the library. Marissa Lamer is acting director. She has worked for the library for almost two years.

“We wish Jim the best and appreciate his service to the Hays Public Library,” she said.

The board will begin the task of searching for a new director.  

The Hays Public Library serves the cultural, informational and recreational needs of the citizens of the community and contributes to Hays’ quality of life. The library is funded primarily by a tax levy on property within the city limits of Hays. It is governed by a board of directors.

The Hays Public Library Board of Directors consists of seven members appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city commission.

Updated 2:06 p.m.