Emergency haying and grazing for Conservation Reserve Program lands in Reno County became available Monday, July 16.

Last week, U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency State Executive Director David Schemm announced that emergency haying and grazing of CRP would be authorized in 43 Kansas counties.

Authorized counties also included Rice, McPherson, Stafford, Barton, Ellsworth, Saline, Harvey, Butler, Barber, Harper and Kingman. More counties extended to the northeast part of the state, and Morton County was authorized in western Kansas.

The emergency measures were requested by local FSA county committees. Counties designated as D2 (severe drought) level on the U.S. Drought Monitor have been approved by the Kansas FSA State Committee for emergency haying and grazing beginning July 16.

Haying is authorized through the end of fiscal year 2018, which ends Sept. 30. The grazing period cannot last longer than 30 days from the authorization date, and ends on Aug. 15.

The same CRP acreage cannot be both hayed and grazed at the same time. If 50 percent of a field or contiguous field is hayed, the remaining unhayed 50 percent cannot be grazed. The remaining acres must remain unhayed and ungrazed for wildlife. In addition, participants are limited to one hay cutting and are not permitted to sell any of the hay.