LAWRENCE — From qualifying by a point to taking home a team trophy, the Thomas More Prep-Marian girls’ cross country team has had a whirlwind week.

The Monarchs, after just edging Norton to finish third in last week’s regional, bettered that performance Saturday in the Class 3A state finale at Rim Rock. Paced by a 17th-place showing for Grace Pope, the Monarchs secured a second-place trophy Saturday, scoring 89 points.

TMP finished 30 points back of team champion Scott City.

The Monarchs’ Julia Werth was the next best finisher for TMP, coming in 23rd in her final Monarch cross country race. Pope ran the course in 21 minutes, while Werth came in at 21 minutes, 13.60 seconds. The next three runners packed close together. Adell Riedel was 37th (22:09.20), Emily Schippers 41st (22:11.50) and Abby Rueschhoff 46th (22:18.50). Rounding out the Monarchs’ day were Kyleigh Allen and Kiara Urban in 68th and 69th, respectively.

Norton’s Lexi Kats took home top individual honors. Kats won the gold medal by four seconds ahead of Colby’s Lara Murdock. Kats crossed in 19:26.60, while Murdock came in at 19:30.3. Team champion Scott City placed three in the top 18.

Both of Nortons’ boys’ qualifiers finished in the top 14. Ricky King covered the course in 17:06.50 to finish ninth while Connor Hall was 14th at 17:15.60.

Class 5A at Rim Rock

The Hays High girls had a rough day, finishing 12th out of 12 teams in the field. Allison Shubert was the Indians’ best finisher, coming in at 60th in 21:42. Yesenia Maldonado finished 62nd in 21:42.40. Landri Dotts, who paced the Indians in their regional championship a week ago, came in 79th with a 22:30.70. Claire Shippy (83rd), Lainey Hardman (91st), Cristina Leos (92nd) and Adyson Albers (97th) rounded the Indians’ race.

Class 2A at Wamego

Helen Giefer took home top honors in the Class 2A girls’ race, and was followed closely by sister Sybil Giefer as the two were first and third place, respectively. Helen Giefer covered the course in 19:30 to win, while Sybil Giefer was third at 20:39.10. That was enough to lead the Trego girls to a second-place team trophy, eight points back of champion Ellinwood. Also from the area, Hoxie’s Emily Diercks grabbed a seventh-place medal in 20:56 and Ness City’s Savannah Moore medaled, finishing 13th in 21:21.30.

On the boys’ side, Hoxie’s Thaddeus Friess grabbed a fourth-place medal in 17:14.0. Yates Center’s Hadley Splechter ran a 15:57.50 to claim top individual honors.

Class 1A at Wamego

The Sharon Springs-Wallace County Wildcat boys are team champions for the second straight week. The Wildcats claimed the team championship Saturday by one point, scoring 42 compared to St. John’s 43.

The Wildcats’ Trevor Fischer led the way, finishing in third place with a 16:59.30. Fischer was one of two runners in the top 20 as Richard Kaiser finished 12th with an 18:02.80 to earn an individual medal.

Osborne’s Cameron Delaney was sixth in 17:43 and Sylvan-Lucas’ Jonathan Huehl was ninth with a 17:55.70. In addition, La Crosse’s Blake Pierce won a state medal with a 16th-place showing in 18:31.10.

In the girls’ race, Lincoln’s Jaycee Vath led a dominant day for the Tigers, winning the individual title in 19:47.70. Lincoln scored 16 points with Berean Academy second with 41. Lincoln had four in the top 10.

The area’s top finisher was Osborne’s Helen Carlin, who ran 23rd in 22:55.60.