Fort Hays State senior Brady Werth landed the top accolade of his standout career, earning first-team honors on the All-MIAA men's basketball team released on Tuesday. 

The Hays High product averaged a team-best 16.7 points and 7.2 rebounds in the regular season, helping the Tigers go 18-10 overall and finish fourth in the MIAA with a 12-7 conference mark.

Seniors Kyler Kinnamon and Marcus Cooper earned honorable mention honors for the Tigers. 

Werth scored in double figures in 24 of 28 games during the regular season and owns a 19-game streak of reaching double digits heading into the MIAA Tournament. He has five double-doubles on the season. 

“You look at the year Brady Werth’s had, he’s one of the better players in the MIAA,” FHSU coach Mark Johnson said last week. "I would be very disappointed if he wasn't All-MIAA."

In his last game at Gross Memorial Coliseum, Werth scored 20 points and grabbed a career-high 14 rebounds in FHSU’s 71-61 win over Pittsburg State last Saturday. In the process, he eclipsed the 1,000-point mark for his career. 

“It’s meant a lot to me; I’m so glad I came to Fort Hays State,” Werth said after the game. “It’s my hometown, and I’m very pleased that I could reach 1,000 points.”

Werth is FHSU's third first-team All-MIAA selection in the last four years after Rob Davis earned the honor in 2015-16 and 2016-17.

Cooper, a second-year Tiger, averaged 12 points and 4.3 rebounds per game during the regular season and ranked second on the team with 35 steals. The Los Angeles product scored in double figures 17 times during the regular season.

Kinnamon, a McPherson native, averaged 7.1 points and 4.4 assists per game during the regular season. He became the fourth player in program history to reach 400 assists for his career. 

Werth was joined on the first team by Northwest Missouri's Joey Witthus and Trevor Hudgins, Missouri Southern's Cam Martin and Washburn's Javion Blake. 

Northwest swept the individual honors. Witthus was Player of the Year, Ben McCollum was Coach of the Year, Ryan Hawkins was Defensive Player of the Year and Trevor Hudgins was freshman of the year.

The No. 4-seeded Tigers will open the MIAA Tournament in the quarterfinals against No. 5 seed Lincoln at noon on Friday in Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo. 

"It's always fun to get to Kansas City," Johnson said. "It's the best conference tournament in all of D2 and we're excited to be there."

2018-19 MIAA Men's Basketball Postseason Awards

Player of the Year - Joey Witthus - Northwest Missouri, Senior

Defensive Player of the Year - Ryan Hawkins, Sophomore

Freshman of the Year - Trevor Hudgins - Northwest Missouri

Coach of the Year - Ben McCollum - Northwest Missouri

2019 Men's Basketball All-MIAA Teams

First Team

Brady Werth - Fort Hays State, Senior

Cam Martin - Missouri Southern, Sophomore

Trevor Hudgins - Northwest Missouri - Freshman

Joey Witthus - Northwest Missouri - Senior

Javion Blake - Washburn - Senior

Second Team

Adarius Avery - Central Oklahoma, Senior

Terrance Smith - Lincoln, Senior

Brad Newman - Lindenwood, Senior

Lavon Hightower - Missouri Western, Senior

Ryan Hawkins - Northwest Missouri, Sophomore

Third Team

Elyjah Clark - Missouri Southern, Junior

Caleb Smith - Northeastern State, Junior

Donovan Franklin - Pittsburg State, Senior

Grant Lozoya - Pittsburg State, Senior

Karim Mouliom - Southwest Baptist, Senior

All-Defensive Team

Diego Bernard - Northwest Missouri, Freshman

Ryan Hawkins - Northwest Missouri, Sophomore

Jonell Burton - Lincoln, Junior

Karim Mouliom - Southwest Baptist, Senior

David Salach - Washburn, Senior

Honorable Mentions

Central Missouri: Daniel Farris - Sophomore, Jafar Kinsey - Senior, Jacob Lowrance - Senior

Emporia State: Kooper Glick - Senior, Julius Jackson - Senior

Fort Hays State: Marcus Cooper - Senior, Kyler Kinnamon - Senior

Lincoln: Jonell Burton - Junior, Amariontez Ivory - Senior, Grant Olsson - Senior

Lindenwood: Chandler Diekvoss - Senior, TJ Crockett - Sophomore

Missouri Southern: Kinzer Lambert - Junior, Braelon Walker - Junior

Missouri Western: Tyrell Carroll - Freshman, Bryan Hudson - Senior

Nebraska Kearney: AJ Jackson - Junior, Kanon Koster - Freshman

Northeastern State: Josh Ihek - Junior

Northwest Missouri: Diego Bernard - Freshman, Ryan Welty - Junior

Washburn: Tyler Geiman - Sophomore, David Salach - Senior