ATLANTA — The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Monday the eight 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II Region Coaches of the Year, along with the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year. Tony Hobson of Fort Hays State is the WBCA Central Region Coach of the Year for the 2018-19 season. All eight Region Coaches of the Year were finalists for National Coach of the Year, which goes to Molly Miller of Drury University this year.

Hobson guided Fort Hays State to its second Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Regular Season Championship and the program's first-ever MIAA Tournament championship in 2018-19. Hobson led the Tigers to a 30-1 record entering the NCAA Championship Tournament, the fewest losses in the regular season in program history. The Tigers made their fifth appearance in the NCAA Tournament (fourth under Hobson) and earned the No. 1 seed in the Central Regional for a second time in Hobson's tenure. FHSU finished the year 32-2 overall, the best overall record produced in the program's NCAA Division II history. Hobson has guided the Tigers to eight consecutive seasons of 20-plus wins going back to the 2011-12 season.
Hobson now has 16 "Coach of the Year" honors in his 27-year history as a women's college basketball coach. Hobson was also the MIAA Coach of the Year this season. He has guided three different colleges to at least 30 wins in a season in his career (FHSU for the second time this year, Hastings College five times, and Barton Community College once). He now has an overall record of 650-200 as a college coach, a .765 win percentage.