Hays High and Thomas More Prep-Marian will remain in their current classifications after the Kansas State High School Activities Association released classes for the 2019-20 season, as well as the 2020-21 football seasons.

Hays High will stay in Class 5A for all sports including football. TMP-Marian will remain in 3A in all sports but football where it is 2A.

Area changes include Ness City and Oberlin-Decatur dropping down to Class 1A and Hill City moving up to Class 2A. Ness City won the Class 2A state basketball title last March.

A number of area football teams will be impacted, particularly in Eight Man. Quality programs Victoria and St. Francis will moving down to Eight-Man Division II for 2020-21. Claflin-Central Plains, last year’s Eight-Man Division I champion, is also headed for Eight-Man Division II.

La Crosse is dropping 11-man football and moving to Eight-Man Division I next year.

In 11-man, Ellis will be moving up to Class 2A starting next year.