VICTORIA —  The Fort Hays State women's cross country team picked up a third-place finish at the eighth annual FHSU Tiger Open on Saturday. The Tigers placed three runners in the top 21 at their home event, totaling 107 points in the event hosted at Sand Plum Nature Trail.

Brooke Navarro was the top finisher for the Black and Gold, completing the five-kilometer course in 18:32.3. Abigail Stewart earned a 12th-place finish, crossing the line in 18:38.2. Tessa Durnell placed 21st with a time of 18:57.1, while Emily Salmans finished 37th in 19:25.9. Averi Wilson rounded out the team scoring after finishing the race in 19:30.3, good for 41st place.

Southwest Baptist edged out Colorado School of Mines for the team title, 40-43, after the Bearcats swept the podium with runners in first, second and third. Elysia Burgos of SBU captured the individual title with a time of 17:23.4.

In the black race, Faith Chepengat of Iowa Western Community College posted the second-fastest time in course history with a mark of 16:53.3.

After placing four runners in the top 25, the Fort Hays State men's team finished third finished this.

Fort Hays State picked up 71 points as a team, just two back of second place. Robbie Schmidt earned a 10th-place finish after traversing the eight-kilometer course in 24:57.6. Israel Barco finished 15th after crossing the line in 25:13.4. Seppe van 't Westende (22nd, 25:28.6) and Reed Rome (24th, 25:30.2) were the next two Tigers across the line, finishing less than two seconds apart. Robert Loeffler rounded out the Tiger scoring in 29th, recording a time of 25:37.7. All five runners in the scoring for FHSU recorded personal bests on an 8K course.

Colorado School of Mines topped the field with 31 points after all five runners placed in the top 19. Mines' Derek Steele won the individual title with a time of 24:08.9. This year's field in the gold division race consisted of 138 runners representing 13 schools.

In the men's black division race, Wesley Banguria of Colby set a new course record by more than 21 seconds when he crossed the line in 23:11.8. Thirteen teams and 131 individuals completed the black division race, with Iowa Western taking the team title with 54 points.

 The Tigers now have two weeks to prepare for the MIAA Championships, scheduled for Saturday, October 26 in Joplin, Mo.