Hays High football landed seven players on the All-Western Athletic Conference team, highlighted by first-team honors for Hayden Brown, Gaven Haselhorst and Gavin Meyers.

Second-team selections went to Brock Lummus, Luke Fletcher, Trey Adams and Tucker Veach.

Brown, a senior running back/receiver, rushed for 804 yards and eight touchdowns and caught 22 passes for 236 yards with three TDs.

Sophomores Meyers and Haselhorst were the WAC's top two tacklers. Meyers, a linebacker, and Haselhorst, a defensive lineman, each finished with 117 stops on the season. Haselhorst made 22 tackles for loss while Meyers had 12 stops for loss.

Seniors Lummus and Luke Fletcher had solid seasons on the offensive line. Adams, a junior defensive lineman, recorded a team-high five sacks while Veach made a team-best six interceptions and finished with 93 tackles.

The Indians went 4-6 in their second season under Tony Crough, earning the program's third playoff win in school history with a 31-6 victory at Goddard-Eisenhower in the first round of the Class 5A playoffs. HHS ended its campaign last Friday with a 41-10 loss at Maize South.

WAC champions Dodge City swept the top awards with quarterback Beau Foster named offensive player of the year, linebacker Alden Knedler taking defensive player of the year honors and Dave Foster named coach of the year.

The first-team offense was comprised of Brown, Foster, Dodge City receiver Matt Friess, Dodge City offensive linemen Aaron Nelson and Juan Lopez, Great Bend quarterback Dalton Miller, Great Bend receiver Alex Schremmer, Great Bend running back Gage Fritz, Garden City running back Joshua Janas, Garden City offensive lineman Refugio Chairez, Liberal's Syris Dunlap (athlete), Dodge City kicker Jose Valverde and Great Bend receiver Peyton Duvall.

Joining Meyers and Haselhorst on the first-team defense were Knedler, Dodge City linebacker Tommy Bermudez, Dodge City defensive lineman Santonio Turner, Great Bend linebacker Alex Olivas, Great Bend defensive lineman Alan Miramontes, Great Bend defensive back Joey Soupiset, Garden City defensive lineman Terrell Eliott, Garden City linebacker Paul Perez and Liberal defensive lineman Aldo Avalos.

The second-team offense was comprised of Lummus, Fletcher, Dodge City offensive linemen Bryan Holz, Carlos Teran and Josh Bertholf, Dodge City receiver John Johnson, Great Bend offensive linemen Barrett Lutt and Jason Scott, Garden City receiver Philip Biera, Garden City offensive linemen Kelvin Rico and Trey Nuzum and Liberal offensive lineman Jamie Arenivas.

Making up the second-team defense were Veach and Adams, Dodge City linebackers Josh Harshberger and Cedric Rosales, Dodge City defensive lineman Jashon Taylor, Great Bend defensive lineman Elias Moreno, Great Bend defensive back Bryce Brown, Great Bend linebacker Zach Seymour, Garden City defensive back Ashton Huber, Liberal defensive lineman Sergio Chavez and Liberal linebacker Alex Esparza.